Marriage


Marriage is one of the most precious gifts that God has given to a man and a woman who have fallen in love with each other. To love another person and pledge to be together till “death do us part“ is a blessing. To produce children together, to walk side by side during the good times, to support one another during the difficult times is the foundation of family.

Today there are cynics who make marriage the focus of negativism and stupid jokes, referring to marriage as a prison sentence.  My perspective is different.  Marriage is more like a death sentence!  It is death to selfishness and personal ambition.  Marriage is about two people coming together for a single purpose.  To live together for the benefit of the other person.  That is what love is all about.

Paul the writer of this 1 Corinthians 13 states: “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.”

Marriage takes work and can at times be very challenging. Today we are seeing skyrocketing divorce rates because many people are giving up on marriage.  Marriage is a gift from God, it is precious, it is worth protecting, it is worth fighting for.  No matter what the offense, it can be resolved.  It may take time…a lot of time!  It is worth it!

At Crossroads Counseling Center our counselors are skilled listeners who can help mediate conflicts and disputes.  We believe in hope for change.  Miracles still happen today!

5 thoughts on “Marriage

  1. As a woman who has gone through a divorce, I feel I have a lot to say about marriage. I was the sort of person who never would have ended a marriage. I did not have to worry about that as my ex husband ended it for me. The bottom line in my case, sometimes things happen in life that make it tough for one of the partners in the marriage to continue the process with the same person. I am much like my mother, I consider myself a ‘lifer’ in that my belief is that marriage is for life. There were multiple reasons for the failure of my marriage. I grew as a person, Some people do not like change,my ex certainly did not and it is okay.We also had a child who developed a life threatening disease which she will have to live with for the rest of her life. I was also unable to have any more children, I saw that as a gift from God that I would be able to fully care for the beautiful child I already had. I had everything I could ever want, a loving husband a wonderful family, a beautiful home. The my husband decided to leave, he clearly was not seeing the gifts that God had given us both.
    I have since picked up the pieces, I met another man who is wonderful to me and my daughter. When my daughter was hospitalized at 15 gravely ill, this man slept on a marble floor with only a blanket so that i would not be alone at her bedside, He has become more of a father to her than her own father has ever been. When he danced with my daughter at her wedding, there was not a dry eye in the house because everyone could see the love he has for her. God never thought to leave me alone, he chose very well for me the second time around ! Would I have loved to be married to the same person for my entire life, I always thought so. I look at my friends who have spent a lifetime living together and I get that sad pang in my heart . But, I also count my blessings because I have been in wonderful love twice this lifetime. I find it such a blessing. Sometimes God’s most precious gifts do come in the form of change. I embrace the changes that come into my life as an opportunity for growth and deepening the meaning of my own life and the life of my family. It is never easy, memories, especially this time of year, bring some sadness and regret. When these feelings come I call on Holy Spirit to walk with me along my path. He never fails to walk with me as he is ever present and everywhere and understands each moment of my life, and it is Good !

  2. After years of struggling with severe depression w/ psychosis and social anxiety, i have been set free. My depression was mild but my social anxiety led to becoming psychotic when people try to control me and I was too weak to stand up for myself. My wife, who is a rapid cycling bipolar, admitted she tried to provoke me before actually pushed me into marrying her. I believe she loved me but maybe not as deep as she wanted to since she admits to being codependent too. I actually feel free from the mood swings since she instigated the divorce but I stlll never felt trapped by marriage because I loved her and never saw her flaws but was quick to point out mine and threatened to leave me if she didn’t get her way, so as usual I gave in. Now I’m winding up a divorce and falling in love with an older woman 100 miles away who actually found me by commenting on my blog and friended me on Facebook. She lives in the same town my brother does. I’m going to see my brother for christmas but I plan to see her too. She didn’t seem to be against the idea but I don’t know if it’s really love or what. I’m not dating on the rebound. I’ll be content with my singleness but I won’t pass up an opportunity if it passes. She’s been divorced for years and we’re both christians. I need some way to confirm it before I go up there. I wish there was some way to find out how he feels but the fact that she’s not telling me to back off on FB may be my confirmation. When I notice other girls it’s her I feel like I’m cheating on and I haven’t met her yet.
    Thanks,
    Erwin

  3. I agree Jay, I am about to celebrate my 29th year of marriage this coming April with my best friend Wayne. We have faced many challenges together over all of our years together and to be quite honest, it hasn’t alawys been easy. I find your blog refreshing to think that you and your wife are journeying down the same road as Wayne and I, during a time in our society when the idea of marriage is changing rapidly. My prayer for you and our families is that they will be able to witness the love that Paul did talk about in Corinthians and they will desire to aim towards this in their lives also. Blessings Valerie

Leave a Reply

